Built in 1860, the Victorian-style farmhouse served as a hospital for Confederate troops during the Civil War. Following a restoration and renovation in 1993, the house was converted into a Bed and Breakfast that entertained esteemed guests like President Barack Obama.
One of the rare surviving 19th century farmhouses in the area, the Victorian farmhouse features the original Italianate detail at the cornices and decorative window lintels. G.G. Garrison built the house in 1860 to live near his father, who owned the nearby Bayville Manor. The house was sold to Elijah Fillmore Truitt, a Norfolk man, whose family owned the house for most of the early part of the 20th century. The Burroughs family bought the property in 1932, combining the farm and its property to the adjacent Bayville Farm, and eventually Pembroke Farm and Hickory Farm. Mr. Burroughs hired and housed different farmers and their families throughout his years of ownership to help manage the farms: the Mast family in the 1930’s and the Porter family from 1945-1972.
In 1993 developer, Jahn Summs, purchased, renovated and converted the historic property into a charming and splendid bed & breakfast and neighborhood pub. The B&B passed through the hands of local developer and Norfolk’s Admirals hockey team owner, Mark Garcea, to businessman Gerald F McDonnell. The bed and breakfast entertained guests like President Barack Obama and Ambassador Caroline Kennedy and the Manor’s restaurant, The Cellars, won the title of Best Restaurant in Virginia by OpenTable in 2015.
The house is currently owned by the Marx family and is undergoing renovation and restoration so it may soon be reopened for weddings, overnight stays, and unique dining experiences.